The thrill of publishing breaking news!

Joy - Print goes here
3 min readAug 27, 2024
Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

I’m not going to lie, there’s a thrill to publishing big news first.

It’s so exciting to be the first to announce something big. Over the years I’ve managed to break a few stories for our little village, and the most recent version of our newsletter I was lucky a few weeks after I launched it to be the first to publish a large developing story.

I chose to publish our newsletter on a Thursday, instead of the normal Tuesday all the other papers came out, it worked to my advantage when the story broke Tuesday afternoon. It was a good week increasing my subscribers by 150 in a few days (very nice when I had only just started!)

But there are a few things you need to watch out for when attempting to be the first one to hit the publish button.

Don’t be emotive.

It’s easy to get a bit emotive when quickly writing breaking news. You may be trying to beat the clock and get your article out first before any other newspapers or social media groups. Excitement and thrill, plus quick writing often lets emotions sneak through because you’re just thinking about writing the most amazing breaking story and hoping you’ll be the first to publish. Remember to stop and think about what you’re actually saying. It’s easier to just put the facts down as they are and let people react to…

--

--