Is Etsy just a game of numbers?

How many items should a shop have for consistent sales?

Joy - Print goes here
3 min readJun 18, 2024

Over the years there has been a lot of speculation into how many items an Etsy shop should have before they start making consistent sales.

If you’re starting out 10 items is often a number mentioned. Then when someone goes to your shop they might be enticed to buy more than one thing, and so you can start getting found in search results for different keywords.

If you sign up to Etsy with a referral link, like this one: https://etsy.me/3VKG870, then you get your first 40 listings for free (yes that link is valid, and I would get 40 free listings too). So adding 40 items is also a good number according to Etsy.

The next numbers were multiples of 100, and originally I found this to be true. If I had 100 items in my shop I would make a few sales a month (1 every week or two), 150 items I would get about a sale a week, 200 items would be 2–3 sales a week. I made it to almost 300 items and I was selling 3–5 items a week, and some of them were decent sales which meant Etsy was sending me around $200 a week. Very nice for just a part time thing. that didn’t have high overheads.

Unfortunately, it didn’t last long.

--

--