Communication is Key to Running Your Local Newsletter

Joy - Print goes here
3 min readJul 22, 2024
Photo by yang miao on Unsplash

One of the things I love about running my community newsletter is I don’t have to write everything.

Sure there are some weeks when articles are slow coming and I have to find information and fluff it up so it’s longer than two sentences. But mostly articles are submitted by various groups and I just check them for spelling/accuracy and publish them.

There is a problem with this method though. Articles will come in bursts. It’s something I need to keep on top of constantly. Even when I’ve got multiple articles for the next issue, I have to make sure it doesn’t go silent after that.

For this, ongoing communication with various groups is vital.

REMIND PEOPLE

I will send out a general email every month or so reminding groups who haven’t sent me anything recently that they can submit articles.

I also contact the President or Secretary of groups a week or two before they have their next meeting scheduled to double-check the details. This makes sure the meeting hasn’t been cancelled and is a quick reminder if they have any other information they might want to mention.

DON’T MAKE IT LONG

--

--